Uganda Government  




Uganda promulgated a new Constitution in October 1995 and held a presidential election in May 1996, followed by parliamentary elections in June. The 1995 Constitution provided for a strong executive president, to be elected every five years, but with significant requirements for Parliamentary approval of presidential actions. The Parliament includes 214 directly elected representatives from geographical constituencies and special indirectly elected seats for representatives of women (39), youth (5), disabled (5), labor (3), and the Army (10)
President Museveni, Yoweri Kaguta
Vice President Kazibwe, Wandira Specioza, Dr.
Prime Minister Nsibambi, Apollo
First Dep. Prime Min. Kategaya, Eriya
Second Dep. Prime Min. Ali, Moses
Third Dep. Prime Min. Wapakhabulo, James
Min. in Charge of the Presidency Bukenya, Gilbert Balibaseka
Min. in the Office of the Vice President Okwir, Betty
Min. in the Prime Minister's Office Kagonyera, George Mondo
Min. of Agriculture, Animal Industry, & Fisheries Mugerwa, Kisamba
Min. of Defense Mbabazi, Amama
Min. of Disaster Preparedness & Refugees Ali, Moses
Min. of Economic Monitoring Ruhemba, Kweronda
Min. of Education & Sports Makubuya, Kiddu
Min. of Energy & Mineral Development Namirembe, Ssyda Bumba
Min. of Finance, Planning, & Economic Development Ssendaula, Gerald
Min. of Foreign Affairs Wapakhabulo, James
Min. of Gender, Labor, & Social Services Bakoru, Zoe Bakoko
Min. of Health Muhwezi, Jim
Min. of Internal Affairs Kategaya, Eriya
Min. of Justice & Constitutional Affairs Mukwaya, Janet
Min. of Local Govt. Bidandi-Ssali, Jaberi
Min. of Public Service Kajura, Henry
Min. of Public Works, Housing, & Communications Nasasira, John
Min. of Tourism, Wildlife, & Antiquities Rugumayo, Edward
Min. of Water, Lands, & Environment Rugunda, Ruhakana
Min. of Works, Transport, Housing, & Communication Nasasira, John
Min. Without Portfolio Kiyonga, Crispus
Min. of State for Agriculture Sebunya, Kibirige, Dr.
Min. of State for Animal Industry Mugenyi, Mary
Min. of State for Communication Werikhe Kafabusa, Michael
Min. of State for Defense Nankabirwa, Ruth
Min. of State for Disaster Preparedness & Refugees Amongin Aporu, Christine
Min. of State for Economic Monitoring Ojwok, Omwony
Min. of State for the Elderly & People With Disabilities Nayiga, Florence
Min. of State for Energy & Mineral Development Migereko, Daudi
Min. of State for Entandikwa Akello, Grace
Min. of State for Environment Miyingo, Kezimbira
Min. of State for Ethics & Integrity Matembe, Miria
Min. of State for Finance (General) Rukutana, Mwesigwa
Min. of State for Finance (Investments) Kutesa, Sam
Min. of State for Finance (Planning) Musumba, Isaac
Min. of State for Finance (Privatization) Kasenene, Peter
Min. of State for Fisheries Byaruhanga, Fabius, Dr.
Min. of State for Gender & Cultural Affairs Bitangaro, Sam
Min. of State for Health Mukula, Michael
Min. of State for Higher Education Aketch, Betty
Min. of State for Housing Babu, Francis, Capt.
Min. of State for Industry Nduhuura, Richard
Min. of State for Information Basoga, Nsadhu
Min. of State for Internal Affairs Kiyingi, Sarah
Min. of State for International Affairs Butiime, Tom
Min. of State in Charge of Karamoja Lokeris, Peter Aparite
Min. of State for Labor & Industrial Relations Obbo, Henry
Min. of State for Lands Isoke, Baguma
Min. of State for Local Government Byaruhanga, PhilipDr.
Min. of State in Charge of Luwero Lwanga, Tim
Min. of State for Mineral Development Bataringaya, Kamanda
Min. of State for Northern Uganda Didi, Agard
Min. of State for Parliamentary Affairs Okot Ogong, Felix
Min. of State for Primary Education Bitamazire, Geraldine Namirembe
Min. of State for Primary Health Care Wabudeya, Beatrice
Min. of State for Public Service (General) Okumu Ringa, Patrick
Min. of State for Public Service (Pensions) Mukiibi, Benigna
Min. of State for Regional Cooperation Otafiire, Kahinda, Col.
Min. of State for Security Mukasa, Wilson Muruli
Min. of State for Sports Oryem Okello, Henry
Min. of State for Tourism, Wildlife, & Antiquities Akaki, Jovina o Ayuma
Min. of State for Trade Rwendeire, Abel
Min. of State for Transport Awuzu, Andruale
Min. of State for Water Mutagamba, Maria
Min. of State for Youth & Child Affairs Kamugisha, Alex
Attorney General Ayume, Francis
Governor, Bank of Uganda Tumusiime-Mutebile, Emmanuel
Ambassador to the US Ssempala, Edith Grace
Permanent Representative to the UN, New York