Nigeria Government  




Civilian government returned to Nigeria on May 29, 1999 with the swearing-in of former general, Olusegun Obasanjo, thus ending nearly 16 years of military rule. The military dictatorship of General Sani Abacha, which came to power after former military ruler Ibrahim Babangida annulled the 1993 presidential election intended to restore civilian rule, ended with Abacha's death (of apparently natural causes) on June 8, 1998.
President Obasanjo, Olusegun
Vice President Abubakar, Atiku
Min. of Agriculture Bello, Adamu
Min. of Aviation Chikwe, Kema, Mrs.
Min. of Commerce Ngelale, Precious
Min. of Communications Muhammed, Bello
Min. of Culture & Tourism Bromillow-Jack, Bomo Miss
Min. of Defense Danjuma, Theophilus Yakubu, Gen.
Min. of Education Borishade, Babalola
Min. of Environment Said, Mohammed Kabir
Min. of Federal Capital Territory Abba-Gana, Mohammed
Min. of Finance Ciroma, Malam Adamu
Min. of Foreign Affairs Lamido, Sule
Min. of Health Nwosu, Alphonsus
Min. of Industries Jamodu, Kolawole
Min. of Information Gana, Jerry
Min. of Internal Affairs Shata, Mohammed
Min. of Justice Agabi, Kanu
Min. of Labor & Productivity Gwadabe, Musa
Min. of Police Affairs Akiga, Steven
Min. of Power & Steel Agunloye, Olu
Min. of Presidency (Civil Service) Usman, Bello Alhaji
Min. of Presidency (Economic Matters) Ogbuleafor, Vincent
Min. of Presidency (Inter-Gov't.) Kida, Ibrahim Umar
Min. of Presidency (Special Project) Edu, Yomi
Min. of Regional Integration & Cooperation Ogunkelu, Bimbola
Min. of Science & Technology Isong, Tuner
Min. of Solid Minerals Adelaja, Dupe
Min. of Sports & Social Development Akiga, Steven Ibn
Min. of Transport Madueke, Ojo
Min. of Water Resources Shagari, Muktari
Min. of Women & Youth Ismail, Aishat
Min. of Works & Housing Ali, Garba Madaki
Min. of State for Agriculture  
Min. of State for Communications Haruna-Elewi, Ade
Min. of State for the Air Force Chuke, Dan
Min. of State for the Army Batagarawa, Lawal
Min. of State for Education Usman, Bello
Min. of State for Environment Okopido, Bello
Min. of State for the Federal Capital Territory Ewugu, Solomon
Min. of State for Finance Martins-Kuye, Jubril
Min. of State for Foreign Affairs Onyia, Dubem
Min. of State for Health Ndalolo, Amina
Min. of State for Industries Nwuruku, Lawrence
Min. of State for Internal Affairs Ugbesia, Magnus
Min. of State for Justice Abdulahi, Musa Elayo
Min. of State for the Navy Agbobu, Chris
Min. of State for Power & Steel Modibbo, Aliyu, Dr.
Min. of State for Science & Technology Tallen, Pauline
Min. of State for Transport Yuguda, Isa
Min. of State for Water Resources  
Min. of State for Works & Housing Esan, Aderemi
Permanent Representative to the UN, New York Mbanefo, Arthur Christopher Izuegbunam