Greneda Government  




Grenada is governed under a parliamentary system based on the British model. Grenada has a governor general, a prime minister and a cabinet, and a bicameral Parliament with an elected House of Representatives and an appointed Senate.
Country name: conventional long form: none conv
Governor General Williams, Daniel
Prime Minister Mitchell, Keith
Min. of Agriculture, Lands, Forestry, & Fisheries Charles, Claris
Min. of Carriacou & Petit Martinique Affairs Nimrod, Elvin
Min. of Communications Bowen, Gregory
Min. of Works, Public Utilities, & Transport Bowen, Gregory
Min. of Education John, Augustine
Min. of Finance, Trade, & Planning Boatswain, Anthony
Min. of Foreign Affairs Nimrod, Elvin
Min. of Health & Environment Modeste-Curwen, Clarice
Min. of Housing, Social Services, Culture, & Cooperatives McQueen, Brian
Min. of Implementation Whiteman, Joslyn
Min. of Information Mitchell, Keith
Min. of International Trade Nimrod, Elvin
Min. of Labor Nimrod, Elvin
Min. of Labor & Local Affairs Joseph, Lawrence
Min. of Legal Affairs Nimrod, Elvin
Min. of Local Government (Carriacou & Petite Martinique Nimrod, Elvin
Min. of National Security, Mobilisation & Information Mitchell, Keith
Min. of Tourism, Civil Aviation, Women's Affairs, Social Security, & Culture Hood, Brenda
Min. of Youth, Sports, & Community Development Mitchell, Adrian
Attorney General Anthony, Raymond
Permanent Representative to the UN, New York Stanislaus, Lamuel
entional short form: Grenada

Government type: parliamentary democracy

Capital: Saint George's

Administrative divisions: 6 parishes and 1 dependency*; Carriacou and Petit Martinique*, Saint Andrew, Saint David, Saint George, Saint John, Saint Mark, Saint Patrick

Independence: 7 February 1974 (from UK)

National holiday: Independence Day, 7 February (1974)

Constitution: 19 December 1973

Legal system: based on English common law

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

Executive branch: chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Daniel WILLIAMS (since 9 August 1996) head of government: Prime Minister Keith MITCHELL (since 22 June 1995) cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch; prime minister appointed by the governor general from among the members of the House of Assembly

Legislative branch: bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (a 13-member body, 10 appointed by the government and three by the leader of the opposition) and the House of Representatives (15 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms) elections: last held on 18 January 1999 (next to be held by NA October 2004) election results: House of Representatives—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—NNP 15

Judicial branch: West Indies Associate States Supreme Court (an associate judge resides in Grenada)

Political parties and leaders: National Democratic Congress or NDC [George BRIZAN]; Grenada United Labor Party or GULP [Herbert PREUDHOMME]; The National Party or TNP [Ben JONES]; New National Party or NNP [Keith MITCHELL]; Maurice Bishop Patriotic Movement or MBPM [Terrence MARRYSHOW]; The Democratic Labor Party or DLP [Francis ALEXIS]

International organization participation: ACP, C, Caricom, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Interpol, IOC, ISO (subscriber), ITU, LAES, NAM, OAS, OECS, OPANAL, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WHO, WToO, WTrO

Diplomatic representation in the US: chief of mission: Ambassador Denis G. ANTOINE chancery: 1701 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20009 telephone: [1] (202) 265-2561 consulate(s): New York

Diplomatic representation from the US: chief of mission: the ambassador to Barbados is accredited to Grenada embassy: Point Salines, Saint George's mailing address: P. O. Box 54, Saint George's, Grenada, West Indies telephone: [1] (473) 444-1173 through 1176 FAX: [1] (473) 444-4820