1820 Election Results Monroe vs Adams

President James Monroe was re-elected without opposition in 1820. Even former President John Adams came out of retirement to cast an electoral vote for Monroe. Monroe won all but one electoral vote. The lone dissenter was former Senator William Plumer, who voted for John Quincy Adams. Plumer reasoned that he did not want Monroe to be elected unanimously, leaving that honor to President Washington alone.