Greek Religion


Greeks shared a common religion.  There were twelve major deities who all lived on Mount Olympus. They included Zeus, the chief god and father of the other gods; Athena, goddess of wisdom and crafts; Apollo, the sun god; Aphrodite, the goddess of love; and Poseidon, god of the sea. 

To the Greeks, it was all-important that the gods look favorably on human endeavors. Thus rituals and temples were developed to assure favor in the eyes of the gods.  Oracles were often consulted because it was critical to know the views of the gods on various matters pertaining to day-to-day life