Treaty of Amity -1778

After the American victory at Saratoga, the French were ready to enter into an agreement with the Americans. On January 7, 1778, the French royal council declared unanimously in favor of a treaty of amity and commerce with the United States. It was followed on February 6th with a treaty of alliance. The treay marked a major turning point in the war, and ended American isolation.



The most Christian King, and the thirteen United States of North America, to wit, New Hampshire, Massachusetts Bay Rhode island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania Delaware, Maryland, Virginia North-Carolina, South Carolina & Georgia, willing to fix in an equitable and permanent manner the Rules - The rest of the Treaty Amity