Marc Schulman


CSS Menu Style

Custom Search

1968 US Soviets Sign Non Proliferation Treaty

US Ambassador to the USSR Signin the Agreement

On July 1, 1968 the United States and the Soviet Union signed the nuclear non-proliferation treaty. The treaty committed both countries not to transfer nuclear weapons or nuclear technologies to other states. Other countries slowly signed the agreement and those non-nuclear countries who signed committed them not to receive nuclear technology. All parties agreed to cooperate in developing peaceful nuclear technologies.