Marc Schulman


CSS Menu Style

Custom Search

National Security Council


National Security Council - created in 1947 by the National Security Act. The National Security Council advises the President on issues of foreign and defense policy. According to the law, the NSC consists of the President, the Vice President, the Secretary of State, and the Secretary of Defense, with the Joint Chiefs of Staff and the Director of the CIA as advisors. The President can also request that other officials take part.