Forest Service



Forest Service - created by the Transfer Act of 1905. The Forest Service bears the responsibility for federal leadership in the management of forest land. It manages the national Forest System, which consists of: 155 national forests, 20 national grasslands and 8 land utilization projects in 44 states, the Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico. In addition, it conducts research to develop technology to protect, manage, use and sustain the nation's forest resources. Its International Forestry Division helps foreign nations promote sustainable development and environmental stability, especially in areas important in global climate.



. .