Marc Schulman


CSS Menu Style

Custom Search

Department of Energy


Department of Energy - one of the Cabinet departments, created in 1977 by combining all federal energy agencies into a Cabinet-level department. The department supports research and other projects on topics such as nuclear energy, nuclear weapons, the marketing of federal power; energy conservation and radioactive waste management. The Secretary of Energy heads the department; which is largely divided into three sets of programs: National Security and Environmental Management; Science and Technology and Energy.