Department of Agriculture


Department of Agriculture (USDA) - established in 1889, one of the Cabinet departments. The Department of Agriculture is headed by the Secretary of Agriculture. The USDA is responsible for agricultural conservation and rural development projects; agricultural marketing, credit, research and education; and crop stabilization. The divisions and agencies of the Department of Agriculture include: the Forest Service, the Natural Resources Conservation Service; the Consolidated Farm Service Agency, the Foreign Agricultural Service; the Rural Utilities Service, the Rural Housing and Community Development Service, the Rural Business and Cooperative Development Service; the Food and Consumer Service; the Food Safety and Inspection Service; the Agricultural Research Service, the Cooperative State Research, Education and Extension Service, the Economic Research Service, the National Agricultural Statistics Service; the Agricultural Marketing Service, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, the Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration; and other administrative offices including: the Office of Congressional and Intergovernmental Relations, the Civil Rights Enforcement; Information Resources Management; Operations; Personnel; Administrative Law Judges; Judicial Officer; and the Board of Contract Appeals.