Revolutiobnary War Study Guide Starting With I


Search Site
About MultiEducator
The Colonies
For Educators
World History
Election Central
Primary Source Documents
20th Century Almanac
Aviation History
Navy History
Railroad History
America's Wars



History of Israel
Other Links
About Historycentral
Contact US

> America's Wars > Revolutionary War > Students> Study Guide Starting with F

Study Guide Starting with I

Intolerable Acts (1774) - Officially called the Coercive Acts , they were a set of laws passed by Parliament to punish Massachusetts for the Boston Tea Party. The acts closed the port of Boston until the colonists paid for the damaged tea, deprived the people of Massachusetts of the right to elect officials, choose jurors, and hold town meetings; appointed General Thomas Gage (1720-1787) military governor of the colony; and required that British soldiers and officials accused of crimes in Massachusetts be tried in England. In addition, the Intolerable Acts included the Quartering Act and the Quebec Act.

Iron Act (1750) - One of the Navigation Acts (1650-1750) intended to restrict colonial manufacturing, the Iron Act forbade colonists to make iron products, including tools, utensils, and hardware.

Iroquois Confederation - The Iroquois were comprised of several related tribes which originally lived in the southeastern regions of the continent. They migrated to the northeast around 1300, driving the Algonquins out of what became New York State. By the sixteenth century, infighting among the Iroquois tribes had risen to epic proportions. Finally, two legendary reformers, Dekanawidah, a Huron religious leader, and Hiawatha, a Mohawk chief and disciple of Dekanawidah, began to organize a union of the five tribes. Before the end of the century, the confederation known as the Iroquois League or Confederation was formed out of the Mohawk, the Seneca, the Cayuga, the Oneida, and the Onondaga tribes.

© 2000  MultiEducator, Inc.  All rights reserved
Report Problems here.