The Instituational Presidency

The Institutional Presidency is made up of the President, the Cabinet and the Executive Office of the Presidency. The Cabinet is made up of the heads of all the departments of the federal government. It has seldom functioned as an effective advisory group. In 1939, President Roosevelt established the Executive Office of President. This has grown into a large organization composed of 14 separate organizations, including the Office of Management and Budget, the Council of Economic Advisors, and the National Security Council.

The office of the Presidency has changed radicaly over the years. Until the middle of the 20th century the office of the President was small with the President working with a few aids. Today there are hundreds of people workiing the White House and the Executive Office Building all part of the institutional presidency.

Presidents Home

Historycentral Home


This site had been optimized for mobile devices